top of page

Ressources

Roadmap issues at stake

The political vision defined by the mayors sets out the medium- and long-term prospects and general ambitions that the member cities of the OWHC have set themselves. Placed in the context of the specific situations faced by the participating cities, it defines the main issues at stake that the Roadmap will address. These issues will be reframed as the process unfolds and as contributions are received from participating cities. The following version will be validated by the Mayors' Panel on October 13, 2023.

 

OWHC member cities are under considerable pressure from a combination of crises, the effects of which are accentuated in particular by the climate crisis. These will lead to profound changes in the future, and consequently raise important issues at stake identified by the mayors at the 16th World Congress of the OWHC.

 

•    Adapting cities to climate change and reducing its impact     
•    Capitalizing on the ability of historic districts to reinvent themselves 
•    Enhancing the features that make the livability of the heritage city 
•    Promoting heritage as an essential resource for sustainable development

 

The adaptability of OWHC member cities, proven over the centuries, is effectively based on their heritage. They constitute a privileged and irreplaceable resource that gives the historic city its characteristics in terms of habitability and, as such, are the bearers of a strong identity and source of the city's quality of life, vitality, and development.

The Québec Roadmap, launched on November 1, 2022, helps OWHC member world heritage cities to meet these challenges. They cover only part of the major global urban challenges, but they already outline the original contribution that OWHC cities can make to the work in progress.

bottom of page

top of page

Ressources

Enjeux de la Feuille de route

La vision politique définie par les maires établit les perspectives à moyen et long terme et les ambitions générales que les villes membres de l’OVPM se sont données. Placés dans le contexte des situations particulières que connaissent les villes participantes, se précisent les enjeux principaux que la Feuille de route traitera. Ces enjeux seront recadrés au fur et à mesure de la démarche et des contributions provenant des villes participantes. La version ci-après devra être validée par le Panel des maires le 13 octobre 2023 :

 

Les villes membres de l’OVPM subissent des pressions considérables en raison des crises combinées dont les effets sont accentués en particulier par la crise climatique. Elles induisent des changements profonds à venir et soulèvent, en conséquence, des enjeux importants identifiés par les maires lors du 16e Congrès mondial de l’OVPM.

 

•    Adapter les villes aux changements climatiques et en réduire l’impact
•    Mettre à profit la capacité des quartiers historiques à se réinventer 
•    Valoriser les caractéristiques qui fondent l’habitabilité de la ville patrimoniale
•    Privilégier les patrimoines comme ressource incontournable du développement durable

 

La capacité d’adaptation des villes membres de l’OVPM, éprouvée à travers les siècles, repose effectivement sur leurs patrimoines. Ils constituent une ressource privilégiée et irremplaçable qui donnent à la ville historique ses caractéristiques en termes d’habitabilité et sont, de ce fait, porteurs d’une identité forte et source de la qualité de vie, de la vitalité et du développement de la ville.

La Feuille de route de Québec, lancée le 1 novembre 2022, aide les villes du patrimoine mondiale membres de l’OVPM à répondre à ces enjeux. Ils ne couvrent qu’une partie des grands enjeux urbains mondiaux, mais ils dessinent déjà les contours de la contribution originale que les villes de l’OVPM pourront apporter aux travaux en cours.

bottom of page